Time Limits for Filing Product Liability Cases
Don't Wait to File Your Claim
It is reasonable to expect that the products we buy and use will perform
to our expectations and do so in a safe manner. Sometimes, however, products
may have defects or other unexpected dangers that may prove harmful to
the user. In these cases, the product’s manufacturer may be held
liable for any damages or injuries that occur from using the product,
but claims must be made in a timely manner.
If you have sustained an injury while using a product, there is a limit
to the amount of time you have to file a claim. These time limits, called
the “statute of limitations,” vary from state to state. The
time limit usually begins when the person who was injured first discovers
their injuries, but could also be as soon as when the injury was actually
sustained, under what is known as the “discovery rule.”
Here in Alabama, action must be taken within two years from the discovery
of the injury. Most states allow for 1-3 years, while some states, like
North Dakota, allow as many as 11 years to pass from the date of manufacture.
Some states also have “statutes of repose,” which bar actions
that are not brought forth within a certain time period after an event
For over 25 years,
Glenda Cochran Associates, Attorneys at Law has fought on behalf of the injured, successfully recovering millions
for our clients. If you think that you may have a
product liability claim, beat the statute of limitations by
contacting our attorneys as soon as possible!